Day 18 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

Day 18 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

Tuesday has come. Three more days until we fly home!! We will be leaving Lutsk on a bus today. None of us, except Lucy, are looking forward to sitting on a bus for 5 ½ hours, but it will get us closer to return to America! I woke up at about 7:30. I had hoped that I would sleep longer, so I rolled over to try to fall back to sleep. A few minutes later the phone started ringing in the other room. I got up and closed the door to the room where the apartment phone is located. I then closed my bedroom door. I then decided I would not try to go to sleep, I would come in and get caught up on writing about our trip. So here I sit in our kitchen finishing up. I hear noise in the front room, so the boys must be up. I had better go take a shower and start packing my bags.

It was not the boys in the front room that were up, it was my little early bird, Heather. She was busy packing up her new backpack and other things. She was also unplugging all my electrical items, converter, adapter, power bar, rechargers, etc. She is a great helper. The boys were soon up packing. We did a bit of cleaning up the nice apartment. Jonathon help sweep the kitchen. We put all our luggage by the front door. I went through the house checking ALL the drawers and cupboards.

At 11:40 the children and I left our apartment to catch the bus. We were able to get on the right trolley bus and off at the correct stop. We ate at the Pazata Hata type restaurant. It is the best for the children. It is easy for them to choose what to eat when it is sitting right there in front of them. They have all chosen some kind of meat patty topped with an sunny side up egg. Heather loves the dumplings. Potato dumplings are her first choice, but she was okay eating the meat dumplings since they had no potato ones. She is a big potato eater. When I went with them one time to eat at the orphanage on our first trip, they ate lots of potatoes. On this trip Lucy and I ate with them on the day we took them from the orphanage. I don’t remember if I put that detail in my blog or not. We had lots of potatoes in the food and pickles vegetables. I don’t know that I will start pickling crooked necked squash (that is what they had when we ate at the orphanage – I did try it but didn’t really like it). I guess I better just start using more potatoes. It may cut my food expenses a bit. We finished up and decided we better skip going into the big market, since we weren’t quite sure which trolley bus to take back to the apartment.

Eating at the Pazata Hata type Restaurant

We did manage to get on one of the trolley buses that went by our place. We were pretty pleased with ourselves. We realized we had time to stop by the small market by our apartment. We went in and got more plastic cups, poppy seed rolls, a few bananas, and something else (hmm? ) oh ya, we got some raisins, but they ended up tasting bad. We returned to our apartment right on time. A man came to collect our money and get the key from us. I think he is the husband of the lady that brought us. We paid him. He was kind enough to offer us all a ride to the bus stop, which was only a couple of blocks, but it was great to get a ride since the sidewalks around here have much to be desired.

Lucy’s dad arrived at the bus stop shortly after we did. The children were very happy to see him. Her mom came just a little bit before we had to load the bus. She gave me a note, some washed apples (we had some the other day, so I knew they would be yummy!), and hugs to us all. We had time to take some quick photos and then get on the bus for Kiev. It was full. Lucy traded her spot with a young man so that she could sit with me.

Saying Goodbye to Lucy's Parents

 

The bus departed at 2:00 pm. During the first half of the bus ride, I finished an autobiography about a women that lived in Ukraine during the Bolshevik communist revolution. It was a very interesting read. It made me really feel for the people of Ukraine and all that they have endured. The drive seemed to go much quicker this time. We had a nice stop halfway through. We ate our poppy seed rolls, and the boys knew to take money to use the toilet.

I enjoyed watching the green country side go by. As we were passing one village, I saw a big stork’s nest with a stork head sticking up above the nest. I thought, “I wish I had my camera out.” Just a little bit later, we passed another stork in its nest. I thought, “What are the chances of missing two nests?!” That was too bad. Next thing I know I pass another stork in its nest!! I decided I better get my camera out. The rest of the trip I had it in my hands and only saw an empty storks nest.

The green country

At some of the road side stands, I noticed people were selling the brooms made out of branches, but they were also selling some dried branches with leaves on them. They were in bundles. I asked Lucy about them. She said that people use them in saunas to beat against a person’s back. I do not know if it is supposed to improve circulation or something like that. The leaves looked like all the same kind, Lucy is going to look them up to see what kind of leaves they are. We arrived in Kiev at a little after 7:30 p.m. Lucy had called for two taxis, so they drove up shortly after we arrived. We went to our apartment which is in the same building that we stayed in on our first trip.

Jonathon waking Heather up fro her nap on the bus by taking photos of her.

Happier Heather

Heather does not look too mad at Jonathon for waking her up.

So what is Hyrum doing?

Hyrum snoozing on the bus

 

The apartment is a one room apartment and has a loft. The kitchen is a sad old kitchen. I really wanted to do laundry, but we have no detergent. We headed out to . . . . Pazata Hata! Imagine that! The kids ate really good. We stopped by the market to get dish soap and laundry detergent. I put my load of light clothes in the wash. I was a little reluctant to wash my clothes in that washer, because it has green mold on the grey rubber seal. I am out of my necessary clothing items, so I didn’t have much choice but to put them in. While the laundry was going, we Skyped Ryan and Bryan in Italy and we helped the children know what they can say when Dad asks then, “What are you doing?” We then read scriptures and the children headed to bed.

I took my laundry out of the washer. It looked like there was a bunch of fish food flakes all over my light colored and white clothes. Yuck!!!! I had to shake the green flakes off my clothes before I could hang the to dry. I guess it won’t kill, but it is still not a pleasant thought to think of wearing those clothes. Oh, well! Tough on me!

Comments
5 Responses to “Day 18 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine”
  1. Wendy says:

    I don’t know how to spell the type of leaf you’ve mentioned but, phonetically it sounds like Bonya. And yes, they beat you with them in the sauna. Amy and I know this because we had the pleasure of living the experience first hand. If you’d like the link to my blog for that entry, let me know. It’s pretty entertaining! When you’re getting hit with these leaves you are stark naked. Yes. I won’t go into details but yet again refer you to my blog. However, they have an expression; when someone is crowding them or in their space ‘Stop sticking to my butt (I’m cleaning up the expression for your family friend blog) like a Bonya leaf!”
    I understand that this leaf whacking is thought to be healthy and help stimulate circulation?

  2. Stephanie Holbrook says:

    I’m a little hesitant to say this, but I was glad to read that one of your kids had been swearing. I was beginning to think one of two things: 1) they are perfect, or 2) I don’t stand a chance. It’s good to know that they aren’t perfect and yet you are doing so many things with them. I don’t even know if that makes sense… Anyhow, it gives me hope. The last post made me laugh when you said that you went to the balcony to get some food. What is the name of the book you are reading about the Ukrainian woman? I am loving reading your blog and looking at your pictures. You are a very brave and fascinating woman:)

  3. andreas says:

    It’s so fun reading about your adventures everyday. Your blog is so detailed — it’s great! Don’t apolgize for every putting too much information. You’ll look back on this blog someday with a lot of memories, some good, some that will make you cringe. The important thing is that you are recording it all in this blog. Thank you for sharing. I’m sure you are very ready to come home. If you want some visitors at the airport, send me an email with the flight information. We’re so excited to see you and your 3 beautiful kids again.

  4. Erica Michaelis says:

    What a fun trip! The buses weren’t my favorite either. I really quite enjoyed the train. 🙂

  5. Ryan Faber says:

    I’m pretty sure that the branches are usually birch branches that they beat you with. The bayna is the place where the sauna is. Banya is pretty much a russian bath. I’ll be going here sometime in the next couple weeks so I’ll let you know how it goes haha.

Leave a Reply

