Day 6 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

 
Visiting Alona

Day 6 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

We slept in until 9:00 this morning and had to hurry quickly to get ready to go in the taxi to visit an orphanage an hour and a half away. You would think that I would be totally uninterested in driving another hour and a half to visit an orphanage, but we ALL really did want to go visit Alona at her orphanage. She is a 14 year old girl who we hosted in America at the same time we hosted Yuri, Zhenia, and Luba.

 The same potholes were in the road going to Alona orphanage as were on the road going to our children’s orphanage, but in addition, there were MANY more cars to pass on the way. Imagine driving down a road in a taxi that is swerving to miss potholes while passing cars going the opposite direction doing the same thing. I was a bit nervous a few times thinking the cars were both going to swerve into the middle of the road at the same time. It was a bit close a few times. We still have no functioning seat belts to wear. CRAZY! I don’t even think about putting on a seat belt when I get in these taxis any more. The three children and I squished into the back of the small taxi for the drive. It is a very good thing that Luba is so tiny. Lucy sat in the front seat. We had our English lesson on the drive there. We went over the phonetic sounds of the alphabet, sang the alphabet song a few times, and reviewed the words for many fruits that we eat. I actually TRIED to  blog in the car again. With every bounce, my curser would be relocated because my thumb would touch my pad (I don’t know what you call it, but it is the thing I use to move my curser around and tap on if I want to click something or relocate my curser). Frustrating!! Oh well. I finally put it away and enjoyed the bounce and sway of the car and the adventure of wondering if we we safely pass the next car.

I talked to Victor, our facilitator, on the phone while we were driving. He had some great news for us! Drum roll please . . . the children’s Tax ID numbers are in!! He was now getting the paperwork done. He hoped that he would make it up to Dnepr before the office that we need to apply for the passports closes. Yeah!!! That is fabulous news!!

We had an enjoyable visit with Alona. It was a good thing we did not put off visiting her for another day or two, because she was leaving for the weekend to visit family. She has lived in the orphanage for 7 years. The boys played some soccer while we were there which was very good for Yuri, and Luba swang on a big swing. We left before they had a program so that we would be in Dnepr in case Victor made it up here with the papers to apply for the children’s passports.

We ended up not eating the picnic lunch we had taken with us on our little trip, because we all had eaten a late breakfast and were not hungry. We ate when we returned home – bread, mayo, mustard, cheese, ham, juice, and yogurt.

Now that I think about it, we did not eat dinner tonight due to our late lunch. Wow! I am a really conscientious mom here!

We we had hope to be at the passport office at 6:00, but Victor was not able to get everything completed to be there at the time. The was closing time anyway, but they were willing to help us out if we were there by that time. So our appointment will be at 11:00 a.m. tomorrow.

We headed off for FHE at a missionary couple’s apartment. Brother Harding gave a great lesson on obedience and then Sister Harding had an activity which involved throwing small sponges and wadded up pairs of black socks into small garbage baskets. You know apartment basketball. The kids had a great time. The especially enjoyed the FHE treats of chocolate ice cream and brownies. There were a lot of people there, most of the being people in their 20’s. They were all so friendly and welcoming to the children. We had difficulty breaking away and were almost the last to leave. Yuri asked Lucy on our walk home if we were going to be able to go to the English class with the missionaries again this next week. The children have really enjoyed the kindness of everyone.

Yuri, Anne, Luba, and Zhenia at Family Home Evening

What did people do before Skype?! We love Skyping and so we did it today with Caleb, Sam, and Gabe at home. We also Skyped with Erica and her newly adopted daughter Ira, who is a very good friend of Alona’s.

I have now been blogging for a bit while everyone is fast asleep. If I don’t get to bed soon, I will totally miss out on ALL my beauty sleep that I desperately need. I already feel like I am a bit chubby due to this money belt that I wear ALL day long (and night) with my passport and various envelopes of money). I actually do not wear the thing on my waste. I wear it above my waste. The strap actually goes on my ribs and the cloth envelope hangs down.  I then wear something loose enough to hide it. I don’t think anyone else can even tell it is there, but I sure can. I can’t wait to be home again so that I don’t have it on!!!

Goodnight!

Comments
5 Responses to “Day 6 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine”
  1. Maryalice says:

    It is so fun to read about your journey Anne. I am thrilled for you and your new children. What a blessing!
    Prayers for a safe return home.
    Maryalice

  2. andreas says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your daily entries. It sounds like you are making the best of everything with all 3 kids in-tow. They sure are a handsome bunch. Just remember to enjoy the ride right now. Once you get home, you can start making everything work the way it is in your home.

    I am curious as to how Alona reacted to seeing all 3 of your new kids with you. It’s all a bit hazy as to why she did not want to be adopted, but sometime it would be interesting to hear what she said and what she thought about everything. That is, if she said much.

    The cab rides sound crazy. How did you find to room to even get the laptop out with 3 kids with you in the back seat! 🙂

    Hope to see you all soon at the airport. It’s just about your turn to be the ones walking off of the airplane.

  3. Erica Michaelis says:

    Ah, yes. The road to Vasilkivka. 🙂 Many a pot hole. One time we took a taxi out there (not Yura…I actually never felt unsafe in his car) and it was snowy. The guy is racing around slick roads going 120 km/h with cars coming at us. I wasn’t sure we were going to make it that time. Holy cow!

    I’m SO glad you got to visit the orphanage. Thanks so much for the hello’s from the kids. We sure miss them!!!!

  4. Marie Job says:

    Looking forward to your safe return with the children! 🙂 Oh happy day!

  5. Thanks for all the updates. So glad you got the tax ID numbers. It was fun to talk to you today. Sam and I will be around Saturday if you want to try us.

Leave a Reply

