Days 1 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

Day 1 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

I am sitting in the Washington D.C. Airport (Dulles Airport). I started this morning at 5:00 a.m. Tony took me to the airport at 5:30. I got all checked in while Tony parked the car. He kept me company while I waited in the long security line. I am not sure why I got dressed this morning. After removing my backpack,  jacket, shoes, and belt, along with pulling all my electronics out of my very carefully packed backpack, the security personal still wanted to search me after the x-ray. I guess I was also suppose to remove my passport pouch that I had on under my shirt along with my money belt. Tony never had to remove his passport pouch or money belt in all our travels. Hmm?

I packed much lighter this trip since I will not have my men around to heft the luggage up and down stairs and in and out of apartments, taxis, and trains. I will be even lighter once I deliver a few of the packages to children in the orphanages from some of the families that are still getting ready to adopt. I also brought underwear, socks, pajamas, and a couple of T-shirts for the kids. One of the families that recently returned with their children said that after a few days in the same pair of socks, things were getting pretty smelly. I was glad I already purchased and packed them. I have no idea what the children will have to bring. I am assuming that it will not be much.

I am so grateful for all the family and friends that are so willing to help our family while I am away. I will need to be doing some asking in the next couple of weeks.

Comments
One Response to “Days 1 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine”
  1. Stephanie Holbrook says:

    Oh Anne, it sounds like you have had a lovely airport experience. I got detained and frisked and had my hands swabbed last time I flew out of SLC international. Good times. We do look so menacing, us stay at home moms. You are a good sport:)

Leave a Reply

