Day 3 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine

Day 3 of Anne’s Journey back to Ukraine

The day started at 5:40 a.m. We quickly got ready and out the door to meet the taxi at 6:00. We locked up the apartment and entered the very large stairwell that had large landings and many apartment doors opening off of the landings. The entire thing smelled sorely of cat urine. We did determine that it may actually be dog urine when we saw a older woman on the floor below us entering her apartment with two dogs. What a bad smell! Our taxi was waiting for us. He got us quickly to the train station, we unloaded our stuff paid him, and then loaded ourselves up. I did say that I packed much lighter this time around, but I now added to my luggage the grey duffle bag that we left with Lucy that which contained a clear shoe box with fingernail painting supplies (emery boards, lotion, polish, remover, cotton balls, etc.) and another clear shoe box with the embroidery floss for the friendship bracelets and a few other things that we are donating to the orphanage girls when we leave, but we have to haul them on the train. Lucy also had her back and our lunch bag. We found a big wide ramp to go down which sure beat hauling those things down stairs.

Lucy found our train car, we hauled our luggage up the steps, etc. Lucy discovered that my seat was in one train compartment and hers was in another, but the compartments were next to each other. No one else was in my compartment, so we stayed together and hoped that the next people were not getting on for a few stops. We figured the BBC version of the movie Pride and Prejudice would make the time go by much quicker, so we watched the movie until the DVD player battery went dead (3 hours or so). I was comfy lying down on the seats. After that, I tried to nap for a bit and then read a biography I have of a Ukrainian woman that was born in 1920 something. The book really gives me a feel for the difficult history of this country. I LOVE reading biographies!!

Well, we  held our breath at each stop, not literally, hoping that nobody would come to our compartment, and no one did. Yeah!!  Our taxi drive, Yuri (David Howick’s taxi drive that we already had spent time with) met us at the train door and helped us haul our luggage. How grateful I am for strong men. We arrived at our apartment that was across from the opera house (Erica Michaelis’ last apartment). The floors are all shiny and new, the shower looks good, the bathroom doesn’t stink, and it has enough sleeping places for Lucy, myself, and the three children. They asked me to pay for a week. I told them I would pay for two days, just to make sure it would work for us. We agreed on me paying three days. After getting settled, Lucy and I headed up Karl Marxa (sp?) Street. We walked quite a ways to get to the Dnepropetrovsk Ukraine Mission office. I enjoyed meeting some people that knew our son, Ryan, when he served his mission here. We were also able to meet President Nielson and enjoy a nice visit with him. Lucy was flying high. She has been sooo very excited to be going to Dnepro ever since we made the decision a few weeks ago to stay here. Ryan, do you recognize any of these people?

President Nielson, Lucy & Anne

We next walked over to the Mission Home to meet Sister Nielson. What a lovely lady. The Nielson’s have a beautiful apartment, thanks to Sister Abraham who was the previous mission president’s wife. The view is gorgeous. By the time we finished our visiting, Lucy and I determined that we were both starving since we had only had yogurt and a Granny Smith apple and it was now dinner time. We decided to go to Pazata Hata(Fat House) for dinner. Lucy called the missionaries to find out where it was located. We ended up seeing Elder Hammond from Bountiful and his companion. We enjoyed eating with them.

Lucy, Elder Tammens (sp?), Elder Hammonds, Anne

Elder Hammond is a triplet. His brother is serving a mission in Brazil and his sister is still in Utah. All three are 6,000 miles away from each other. Cool! These missionaries are going to be teaching our three children a little about Jesus Christ and his gospel. It was Family Home Evening night, so they gave us a spiritual thought. I decided that I needed to use the restroom facilities before we left this nice restaurant. I walked into their women’s restroom with to nice pedestal sinks.

You would THINK these are nice bathrooms . . .

 The odor was bad, and I soon discovered why . . . this is what greeted me in the stall

           Lovely!

Well, when in Ukraine, do as the Ukrainians do, so I did!

Comments
4 Responses to “Day 3 of Anne’s Journey Back to Ukraine”
  1. Stephanie Holbrook says:

    Wow! I’m so happy for you to be back on the last leg of this adoption. I’m glad that you have Lucy as a travel companion. She is a darling girl. I also love that you are “doing as the Ukrainians do.” haha:) You are such a good sport!

  2. Erica says:

    Aw! I wish I’d gotten to spend more time with the missionaries. How fun! I’m so glad you got our apartment (even though I am a bit jealous.) That was the place there in Ukraine that felt like home to me.

    Aren’t the Nielsen’s amazing?? I love them! Please tell them hello from me.

    You quickly learn where the nice bathrooms are and where they are not. Never pass up a good bathroom, even if you don’t have to go. The ones at the bus station aren’t good. Only use them if you REALLY need to go. LOL

    I can’t wait to hear all about your trip to Vasilkovka!!!!!!!!!!!!! Take lots of pictures! If they’ll let you, that is.

  3. kerry says:

    I am loving reading about your next phase in Ukraine. It helps me to think of the memories of being there, but makes me so happy to be home! I hope your trip goes quickly

  4. Melanie says:

    Anne, You are amazing. Rainee and I are enjoying reading about your adventures!! Way to go.

Leave a Reply

