April 3 and 4 days 23 and 24 of Journey

April 3, 4 2011 Day 23 and 24 of Journey

April 3

Quiet day getting ready to travel home.   Church services in Russian and Ukrainian along with packing and getting ready to go.

We are so ready to be in our own beds!

April 4

We are sitting in the Kiev Airport in their new terminal. Our flight is at 6:30 a.m., so we packed last night. We woke up at 3:15 a.m., dressed, took one last look around the apartment, hauled our luggage downstairs (on the elevator), and were waiting for the taxi at 3:40. The taxi driver arrived 10 minutes early, so we were loaded up and on the road before 4:00. Tony and I agree that sitting for an extra hour at the airport is far better than being one minute late, so here we sit.

The elevator in the apartment building is the same elevator we had when we first arrived here in Kiev; we are just in a different apartment in the same building. The thing likes to bite people and not let go. It is a bit on the scary side. I am glad that we have safety things on newer elevators.

By Tony:

We are now on the flight from Paris to Salt Lake City and are in the air.  Check in at Kiev was not too difficult although it was a bit comical to board a bus to transport us to the airplane and then have the bus drive us 50 meters to the plane.  Paris?  Now that’s another story.  You would think that continuing passengers would have already gone through security in the country of origin but not according to the French.  We had to wait in an extra security line and had our tickets checked twice and our bags x-rayed and through the metal detector.  It was only supposed to take 13 minutes but it took 30 minutes.  After we were through that we went to the gate and noticed our names up on the marquee requesting us to check in again at the desk which we did.  Then we went to another line and went through another check point where our passports and tickets were checked again.  They were randomly pulling people aside and going through people’s bags.  Somehow we missed that one.  I guess they didn’t have the colonoscopy check point set up or I’m sure we would have had to go through that too!

We have safely made it home and are glad of that.  As we are finishing this part of our journey, it is as if we are passing on the dark side of the moon and will not be communicating on this blog until Anne leaves once more for Ukraine.

Comments
4 Responses to “April 3 and 4 days 23 and 24 of Journey”
  1. Wendy says:

    So glad you’re home! Doesn’t your bed feel nice? Your towels so nice and fluffy? Your house so big and spacious? I still marvel at having a dryer and garbage disposal and drinking from the tap!
    Hey, will you take these hair bows back with you when you go? It looks like (from Kerry’s blog) that there should be some young girls that will appreciate them? My friend would just like a few pictures of the kids getting them. Let me know.
    We have lunch this week on Wednesday. Leatherbys in T-ville. 11:30 am. Let me know if you think you’ll feel up to coming, we’d all love to talk to you face to face!
    Wendy

  2. I second Wendy’s comments. Welcome home! I’m sure you’re all happy to be sleeping in your own beds, showering in your own shower, and all those other little things we take for granted. I hope to talk with you soon.

  3. Erica says:

    Welcome home!

  4. Jana Wolfe says:

    Dear Anne and Tony,

    I must admit that this is the first time I have ever visited a blog. I don’t even know if I am saying that right. Anyway, I just completed reading every entry of your journey and I feel so lucky that you shared it. I had a smile on my face, and tears in my eyes throughout. I can’t even put into words how much I admire the two of you for all the love that you have in your hearts and for the sacrifices that you are making.

    Sincerely,

    Jana

Leave a Reply

