I am practicing on my new Acer Netbook computer

Tony and our boys this summer at Boondox -- a family fun center. Anne is the photographer.

Tony and our boys this summer at Boondox — a family fun center. Anne is the photographer.

We are getting closer to being ready to go on our trip to Ukraine this weekend. Tony and our son found a, relatively, inexpensive laptop (netbook?).  We had looked at some other more expensive ones (true laptop computers) that one of our sons could use in college next year, but in the end, spending under $300 won. It doesn’t weigh very much, has a camera (so we can Skype), has a 10″ screen, and is not really fast, but I believe it will do the job.

Tony has been using the netbook the past couple of days.  I decided I better get used to it also.  A couple of our techno savvy boys (the two that are the most willing to help us with our ineptness with technology) will not be on the trip with us. I told Tony that we would not be able to start yelling for help after only spending 30 seconds trying to figure out what the problem is.  We may come back with three children AND be a little bit more techno savvy ourselves . . . imagine that!

I have spent a bit of time this week gathering supplies of things I can do with the girls at the orphanage.  I am looking forward to spending time with the children we are adopting along with all the other children in the orphanage.  It is a small orphanage, so we should be able to get to know many of them.

One good bit of news, I checked the weather forecast for the city of Dnepropetrosk (a couple of hours away from the orphanage we will be going to) and the temperature on Sunday is supposed to be in the 40s!! This Arizona girl, that has tried real hard not to complain too much about the Utah winter this year, is soooo ready for winter to be over.  I always look forward to March 20th.  It is the birthday of our oldest son and the first day of Spring!  The three families that were in Ukraine in February (one is still there) had a high of freezing.  Now that is too cold for me! Burr!! I have heard that March in Ukraine is more like January in Utah.  Now, we had a bit of really decent weather in January this year, so that is the part of January weather I am hoping for while we are there. I have been praying about so many important things, that I have no room in my prayers for the weather, so I am just hoping.:) I was just informed this week that this symbol, the one at the end of my last sentence,  is a smiley face, sideways obviously, but quite imaginative. So for any of you that are not up to speed on that one, now you know.

I am going to practice uploading a photo from our camera card.  I was successful, thanks to my 16 y.o. son’s help.  I will need to practice a couple of more times this week, so that I will be able to do it all by myself. I am not sure how he got the photo cropped and inserted and I had such difficulty. Well, I have got to go.

Comments
8 Responses to “I am practicing on my new Acer Netbook computer”
  1. Wendy says:

    🙂
    Good job practicing!!

  2. Erica says:

    Nice job!

  3. Andreas Horlacher says:

    You are all ready to communicate with the outside world once you get to Ukraine. Good luck in your final preparations!

  4. Diane Hays says:

    Good job Anne! 😀 (that’s a sideways, really big open smiley face!

  5. Diane Hays says:

    Oh! I didn’t realize that when I typed my smiley face it would turn right side up into a cute little emoticon! Awesome!

  6. Christy Hinkson says:

    Congratulations! You are an official blogger and I look forward to reading about all of your adventures. Hopefully they will be mind adventures.

    It was a treat to meet you at the concert the other night. What a great family you have and the chidlren you are going to adopt are very lucky. Our prayers and best wishes are with you. It is almost here.

    Much Love
    Christy Hinkson

  7. Way to go, Anne. I’m so excited for you and your family to have this experience. Thank you so much for taking the time to keep us all updated.

  8. Marie Job says:

    I am so excited for you two. What an adventurous next few months you will have. And when the children finally get here . . . I just get goosebumps thinking about it all!

Leave a Reply

